Posted/Updated: 7/22/2021 9:33:23 AM

The 2021 All-Area Boys Volleyball Team

By Desmond Boyle | For

The 2021 All-Area Boys Volleyball Team pays respect to seniors. All six members of the first team graduated in 2021, with three hailing from Eastern Pennsylvania Conference champion Emmaus, two from District 11 Class 3A champion Parkland and one from Whitehall.

Scroll below to see the first, second and third teams, as well as the honorable mention selections.

First team

John Siggins, Parkland
The senior was a physical presence as the Trojans' middle hitter, tallying 179 kills and 57 blocks this spring for the D-11 3A champions. The 2021 Eastern Pennsylvania Conference MVP will play football at East Stroudsburg University.

Kyle McKiernan, Emmaus
The senior registered an area-best 313 kills along with 176 digs, 33 aces and 34 blocks at outside hitter. The Boys Volleyball Player of the Year was an EPC first-team pick and will play at Elizabethtown College.

Gannon DeFrain, Emmaus
The senior setter did a bit of everything for the Green Hornets with 511 assists, 131 kills, 211 digs, 56 aces and 23 blocks. DeFrain was an Eastern Pennsylvania Conference first-team selection. He'll play at Misericordia University.

Mason Bergstein, Parkland
The senior was one of the best setters in the area. Bergstein provided 684 assists for Parkland, which won the D-11 3A title. The Eastern Pennsylvania Conference first-team pick added 132 digs, 43 kills, 39 aces and 36 blocks for the Trojans.

Nicholas Blose, Emmaus
The senior had 262 kills, 176 digs, 56 aces and 37 blocks for the Green Hornets. He clinched an EPC title with a game-winning kill against Parkland. The outside hitter was an EPC first-team choice and will continue his career at Marymount University.

Nick Rex, Whitehall
The senior had a staggering 710 assists this season for the Zephyrs, who went 16-1 in the regular season. The setter, who was an Eastern Pennsylvania Conference second-team selection, added 183 digs, 28 kills and 13 blocks in 2021.

Second team

Sr. Connor Fenstermaker, Whitehall

Sr. Jordan Lewis, Parkland

Sr. Jacob Sledz, Bethlehem Catholic

Jr. Jackson Fehnel, Northampton

Jr. Owen McFadden, Liberty

Jr. Torrey Tyson, Whitehall

Honorable mention

Allen-Sr. Thor Long.Emmaus - Jr. Noah Parker.Freedom - Jr. Austin Hoffert.Liberty - Sr. Brandon Achey, Sr. Joey Rachwal.Nazareth-Sr. Michael Condomitti.Northampton- Jr. Keller Repasch, Jr. Alex Schoenen, Sr. Kody Whiteman.Parkland- Jr. Azhar Sumar.Southern Lehigh- Sr. Ephraim Smith, So. Trey West.Whitehall - Sr. Matt Lisicky, Sr. Hunter Pinkey, Jr. Aiden Sommer.

Desmond Boyle may be reached at

Questions/Comments? Contact Scott Trumbauer